World Class Beauty Queens Magazine would like to welcome amazing Queen,
Catherine York Miss Massachusetts US Supranational 2018

Full name: Catherine York
Title/Year: Miss Massachusetts US Supranational 2018
Pageant System: Miss Supranational
Age: 20
Zodiac sign: Libra
Hobbies: Cooking, teaching others about nutrition and wellness, and fitness
Platform: Type 1 Diabetes Awareness
Contact information: york.catherinegrace@gmail.com
Years competed: 3
Countries visited: Mexico
Likes: Exploring areas you haven’t been to, recreating recipes to make them healthier,
being humble
Dislikes: Not being appreciative of what you have
Status: In a relationship

World Class Beauty Queens: Please tell us about yourself.
Hello! My name is Catherine York and I am 20 years old. I was raised in Portland,
Maine, and moved to Massachusetts for college. I am currently a senior studying
Nutritional Sciences at the University of Massachusetts Lowell. My goal is to become a
Registered Dietitian. I’ve also had Type 1 Diabetes for the past seven years which has
influenced my career choice. I would love to be able to work with children affected by
chronic diseases to help make their lives easier. I currently work for the Dean of my
college and I assist my professors with their research. I am also a Coordinator for our
Student Alumni Ambassadors Program and President of our Future Alumni Network on
campus.

World Class Beauty Queens: Why did you choose to compete in this pageant?
I chose to compete in this pageant because I love their message of uniting the world
with beauty. Everyone has beauty in them, and in this world of sometimes constant
disagreement, this pageant has created a way of uniting people from so many different
backgrounds.

World Class Beauty Queens: Tell us about your pageant history.
I competed in Miss Maine Teen USA three years ago. I was Miss Maine Collegiate
America in 2016 and represented Maine at the National Miss Collegiate America
pageant.

World Class Beauty Queens: To those unfamiliar with your pageant system
please tell us what is it about?
The Miss Supranational Pageant is all about personal development for the women that
are competing. They allow each woman to grow personally and professionally while
also being a role model in their community.

World Class Beauty Queens: What are you being judged on during the
competition?
The phases of competition include interview, swimwear, and evening gown.

World Class Beauty Queens: What inspired you to do your first pageant?
I was inspired by one of the little girls who has Type 1 Diabetes. She was
so upset that there weren’t that many celebrities that had Type 1 Diabetes. So I told her
that I would do my best and help her to have a role model that had diabetes in the
public eye. Ever since then, I’ve been doing pageants to help put Type 1 Diabetes in a
positive spotlight.

World Class Beauty Queens: What are some of you achievements?
Some of my achievements include making the Dean’s List for three semesters so far in
college. I also was selected to be an ambassador for my university and teach others
about the benefits of my university. I was also selected to be President of our Future
Alumni Network. I was also awarded with being a student recognized by the Who’s Who
in American Colleges and Universities system.

World Class Beauty Queens: What are some of the appearances that you’ve
done?
I did an appearance at a 5k race to celebrate military veterans. I also did appearances
on campus to promote an organization that I love, Rowdy Cares with Bears. This
organization collects teddy bears and toys for children in Lowell, Massachusetts.

World Class Beauty Queens: Which volunteer work was your favorite and why?
My favorite volunteer experience was going to a local homeless shelter and visiting with
the families that were there. It was wonderful to be able to play with the children and
speak with the parents about their goals. I was also able to drop off some toys that the
children could play with that were collected from Rowdy Cares with Bears.

World Class Beauty Queens: Any acting or modeling achievements?
I appeared in two commercials in Maine and I have done a couple of runway shows as
well.

World Class Beauty Queens: How does education plays a role in your life?
Education plays a huge role in my life! I’m currently a senior at the University of
Massachusetts Lowell, and I’m planning on obtaining my Master’s Degree right after I
get my Bachelor’s degree. My goal is to become a Registered Dietitian once I graduate,
and I will constantly have to continue my education in order to provide the best care for
my patients.

World Class Beauty Queens: Tell us about your evening gown?
I didn’t have to compete in a state pageant for my title, so I didn’t compete in evening gown. My evening gown for the National competition is a surprise.

World Class Beauty Queens: What is your onstage strategy to win the judges
over?
My onstage strategy is to really just be myself, as cliche as that might sound. The
judges will want someone who they feel like they know, so if they get to know who I
really am, then that will win the judges over.

World Class Beauty Queens: What makes you stand out from all those other
beautiful girls?
I stand out from all of these other gorgeous women competing because I feel like due to
my personal background, I have a lot of empathy. This makes it easy for me to connect
with others despite what their hardships may be. This then allows me to be the voice for
the voiceless and connect with all types of people.

World Class Beauty Queens: How did it feel to hear your name as the winner?
I didn’t have a state pageant, but it was wonderful to officially receive my crown and
sash in the mail and know that I had a great year ahead.

World Class Beauty Queens: What does the crown and sash symbolizes to you?
The crown and sash symbolizes an opportunity to be a representative for your
community. Whether that may be on a university level, city level, or state, you are a
representative for yourself, your community, and your state.

World Class Beauty Queens: What does it mean to you to be a Beauty Queen?
To be a beauty queen means being a role model for yourself and your community. You
are now someone who little boys and girls can look up to and I love that. I love that I could help mold someone’s life potentially just by being myself and speaking my
message.

World Class Beauty Queens: Competing in pageants is not always easy. What
were some of your obstacles and how did you overcame them?
One of the major obstacles I had was figuring out a balance system. Due to my illness,
being in college full time, working two jobs, and being involved in extracurricular,
finding a way to balance all of that at first was difficult. However, I was able to figure out
a system to make sure I stayed organized which includes things like using an agenda
and keeping it up to date so I know that I am always on top of something.

World Class Beauty Queens: How did competing in pageants helped your life?
Competing in pageants will always be one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. It has
allowed me to grow tremendously and give myself a level of confidence I never thought
I would have.

World Class Beauty Queens: You are an inspiration to all the girls out there. How
does it feel?
It feels wonderful! So many young girls are afraid to be really who they are because
they have an illness or something else holding them back, but I hope that I can be an
inspiration to them because of what I have been through as well. I hope that I can get
across to them that they can do whatever they set their minds to, no matter what it may
be.

World Class Beauty Queens: What are your plans for 2017/18 as a Queen?
My plans for the year include raising awareness of Type 1 Diabetes and acceptance of
yourself. Also, raising money for Rowdy Cares with Bears and distributing the toys to
the children of Lowell. Finally, graduating! I graduate with my Bachelor’s Degree in May
of 2018 and then I’m off to Nationals.

World Class Beauty Queens Magazine would like to say thank you to Catherine
York Miss Massachusetts US Supranational 2018 for this amazing interview!

If you are interested in being featured as a Cover Girl, email us for details.
WorldClassBeautyQueens@gmail.com

Mr USA United Nations 2018, Derek Tokarzewski, Owner of World Class Beauty Queens Magazine
Mr USA United Nations 2018, Derek Tokarzewski, Owner of World Class Beauty Queens Magazine
Catherine York, Miss Massachusetts US Supranational 2018, World Class Beauty Queens Magazine, Photo by TK Photographers
Catherine York, Miss Massachusetts US Supranational 2018, World Class Beauty Queens Magazine, Photo by TK Photographers
Catherine York, Miss Massachusetts US Supranational 2018, World Class Beauty Queens Magazine, Photo by TK Photographers
Catherine York, Miss Massachusetts US Supranational 2018, World Class Beauty Queens Magazine, Photo by TK Photographers
Catherine York, Miss Massachusetts US Supranational 2018, World Class Beauty Queens Magazine, Photo by TK Photographers
Catherine York, Miss Massachusetts US Supranational 2018, World Class Beauty Queens Magazine, Photo by TK Photographers
Catherine York, Miss Massachusetts US Supranational 2018, World Class Beauty Queens Magazine, Photo by TK Photographers
Catherine York, Miss Massachusetts US Supranational 2018, World Class Beauty Queens Magazine, Photo by TK Photographers
Catherine York, Miss Massachusetts US Supranational 2018, World Class Beauty Queens Magazine, Photo by TK Photographers
Catherine York, Miss Massachusetts US Supranational 2018, World Class Beauty Queens Magazine, Photo by TK Photographers
Catherine York, Miss Massachusetts US Supranational 2018, World Class Beauty Queens Magazine, Photo by TK Photographers
Catherine York, Miss Massachusetts US Supranational 2018, World Class Beauty Queens Magazine, Photo by TK Photographers
World Class Magazine Ambassadors
World Class Magazine Ambassadors

World Class Magazines

