World Class Beauty Queens Magazine would like to
welcome amazing Queen, Deanna Silva Mrs. Galaxy 2018.

Full name: Deanna Silva
Title/Year: Mrs. Galaxy 2018
Pageant System: Galaxy International Pageants
Age: 34
Zodiac sign: Cancer
Hobbies: Running, kickboxing, arts and crafts with my children,
movie nights with my family
Platform: Maternal Mental Health (PPD) and Organ Donation
Contact information: galaxypageants.com
Years competed: 2
Countries visited: Canada
Likes: Positive attitudes, anything chocolate, road trips, good
movies, green tea, watching my children learn something new, and
most of all, spending quality time with my family and my closest
friends.
Dislikes: Negative people, the word “can’t”, spiders, and egg nog
Status: Married

World Class Beauty Queens: Please tell us about yourself.
I was born and raised in Buffalo, NY, but moved to a small town in Massachusetts my junior year of high school. I graduated from Grafton High School, and decided to head
to the sunshine state, where I obtained my bachelors of Biology from the University of Tampa in Tampa, FL. With the matchmaking skills of my father, I met my husband a few years after graduating, and in the past 11 years, we have welcomed 3 beautiful children, including a set of boy/girl twins! I now work full time as a diagnostic medical sonographer, and my husband owns a franchise in our home town.  Together, we are a pretty silly and entertaining family!

World Class Beauty Queens: Why did you choose to compete in this pageant?
I was encouraged to compete for the Galaxy title by a friend, and former title holder, who knew it would be the right fit for me based on my passion for community service. I competed in 2016, representing my home state of Florida, and was honored to place in
the top 2, capturing the 1 st runner up spot to the gorgeous Mrs. U.K. I knew after competing that year that I had found my home in this system, and I was honored to return this year, representing the United States, and fulfilled my dream of capturing this prestigious title.

World Class Beauty Queens: Tell us about your pageant history.
I entered my first pageant at the age of 15, after seeing a poster advertising a small competition in our local mall. It would turn out that I would be the only one in my age division to compete for the Jr. Teen title, so naturally, I was crowned queen, and sent on my way to the state finals. I was completely CLUELESS and hadn’t the slightest idea what I was getting into. In fact, I showed up to the state finals and wore a jogging outfit for the “sportswear” category! I later learned that in the pageant world, sportswear means high fashion. Who knew?! I still managed to place in the top 3 at the state finals and I was official hooked on pageantry from that point forward.

World Class Beauty Queens:  To those unfamiliar with your pageant system please tell us what is it about?
The Galaxy system is an international system that embraces diversity and focuses on serving the community. There is no “mold” to fit in capturing this title, and every girl is truly a “Galaxy Girl,” regardless of age, size, shape, race, culture, etc. Title holders are also asked to submit a minimum number of appearances at the international pageant, to
obtain bonus points on the overall score. That tradition carries on to the newly crowned queens, as we are required to complete a certain number of community service events as well. I LOVE that there is focus on giving back to the community, as that is what being a queen is truly about.

World Class Beauty Queens:  What are you being judged on during the competition?
The categories of competition include, interview, fashion wear, swimsuit, evening gown, and photogenic, each counting for 20% of the overall score. In addition, if a contestant completes the minimum amount of appearances required, 5 points are added to her overall score.

World Class Beauty Queens: What inspired you to do your first pageant?
I was bullied in my early high school years for being a nerdy kid. I was the girl with the big blue framed glasses, frumpy body, braces and even headgear! I wanted a chance to feel pretty and to shine in a different light. Every girl wants to feel like a princess at some point in her life, and at that point I was ready to show the world what I was really made of.

World Class Beauty Queens: What are some of your achievements?
I am the first in my family to obtain my bachelor’s degree, which is something I am tremendously proud of. I am also proud to say that I am a co-founder of a non-profit organization that was brought to life by my cousin, and my hero, to raise money and awareness for people living with Cystic Fibrosis. Lastly, I am a full time working
mother, raising 3 amazing children.

World Class Beauty Queens: What are some of the appearances that you’ve done?
I have enjoyed working with countless organizations during my various reigns over the years, including, Donate Life, the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation, The Mr. Strong Foundation, The Children’s Cancer Center of Tampa Bay, Our Savior Lutheran Church, Postpartum Society of Florida, The Seventh Mom Project, The Healing Hands Project, St. Pete Pride, Be The Match, Children’s Home Society of Florida, and Flight to the North Pole.

World Class Beauty Queens: Which volunteer work was your favorite and why?
That is a really difficult to answer! Giving back to the community is my favorite part of wearing the crown and sash, so I love taking advantage of every opportunity I can. A few of my unforgettable moments in the past year, however, were enjoying “Sweets and Treats” with special needs children and the Mr. Strong Foundation, and plunging into 2000 gallons of orange gelatin, in my crown, at a fundraiser for the Children’s Cancer Center of Tampa Bay.

World Class Beauty Queens: Any acting or modeling achievements?
I am so honored to say that I have been invited to showcase the Wow Wear Collection, the Scuba Collection line by Michael Galanes at New York Fashion Week this fall! What a dream come true!

World Class Beauty Queens: How does education play a role in your life?
From the time I was a little girl, I knew that I wanted to work in the medical field, which meant I needed to put priority in my education. I was raised to take school and my grades very seriously, and always strived to be the best version of myself. I am proud to
have obtained 2 degrees, and today I work in a lead management role with my current company. As a mom, education remains one of the most important priorities that I hope to instill in my children.

World Class Beauty Queens: Tell us about your evening gown?
My gown is truly my Cinderella dress. It is a custom piece by the amazing and talented Fernando Wong, who worked with me and my team to make my vision come to life. I can’t imagine taking the stage in any other gown ever again!

World Class Beauty Queens:  What is your onstage strategy to win the judges over?
I don’t think I really have a strategy per say, and I don’t necessarily believe that as competitors that we can do anything to “win” the judges votes. I think the most important thing when competing is just being true to oneself. I don’t think about competing against anyone else, but rather, I focus on digging deeper within and performing better than I did the last time I hit the stage.  All I can offer at the end of the day is the real me, and I can only hope and pray that the judges see that shine through in the interview room and on the stage.

World Class Beauty Queens: What makes you stand out from all those other beautiful girls?
We are all made to shine uniquely in our own light and beauty.  Pageantry is a subjective sport, and each person defines beauty differently.  As a competitor, the only thing I can do is to let my inner light shine bright, and hope that the judges can see it too.

World Class Beauty Queens: How did it feel to hear your name as the winner?
It felt a bit like a slow- motion movie, honestly. Especially since this was my second year competing for this title, and once again I found myself standing in the final 2, with the gorgeous Mrs. U.K. I was holding my breath and waiting to hear my name called as the 1 st runner up again! When I was announced as the winner, I just felt a huge rush of emotions come over me. It is truly a moment I will never forget and forever cherish.

World Class Beauty Queens:  What does the crown and sash symbolizes to you?
The crown and sash symbolizes power and responsibility. Of course, they are both absolutely beautiful, but the beauty of the title comes from the journey it brings. I now can use them as the key tools in promoting my platforms and passions. It is amazing to realize that I could walk into a room without the crown and sash, and no one would look twice, However, if I walk into that same room with it, everyone takes notice, and I become part of the public eye. There is tremendous responsibility in knowing that.

World Class Beauty Queens: What does it mean to you to be a Beauty Queen?
I would define a true beauty queen as someone who’s heart shines as much as the stones on her crown. She is devoted to her title and her community, she is approachable and
able to relate to people from all walks of life, and she leads by example, giving selflessly to those whose lives she will touch during her reign.

World Class Beauty Queens: Competing in pageants its not always easy. What were some of your obstacles and how did you overcame them?
I took a 6-year break from pageantry after I married my husband and we welcomed our first son. In fact, my decision to return to the Mrs. Division of pageantry began with the desire to help lose the baby weight from my first pregnancy! Training for a pageant as a new mom, was one of the biggest challenges that I had to face.  Not only was my body MUCH different than it had been in the past, but I now had a family that was on this journey with me, and it was no longer just about me. That guilt tripled after the birth of our twins, and my long and silent battle with postpartum depression. When I finally sought help, and realized that I wanted to turn that pain into purpose, it took some time for me to let go of the guilt of taking time for myself. However, through it all, I learned how to balance my needs with the needs of my family, which in turn makes me a better
wife and a better mom.

World Class Beauty Queens: How did competing in pageants helped your life?
I find myself defending pageantry quite often to the public.  Unfortunately, social media and reality TV have played a role in portraying pageantry in a negative light. They fail to mention the life lessons that pageantry teaches; confidence and poise, interview and social skills, the ability to think quickly on your feet, a desire to constantly improve your skills, and the ability to move forward when things don’t go as planned. My friends and family tease me that I am the queen of job interviews after all the practice I have had in the pageant interview room!

World Class Beauty Queens: You are an inspiration to all the girls out there.  How does it feel?
It is a very humbling to think that there are those who are inspired by my journey. As women, we tend to put ourselves last, and constantly question our beauty and our worth. It is my hope that young girls, as well as women of all ages, are inspired to embrace their flaws and their hardships, and be proud of the person they have become because of them. If I can make this dream come true despite the chaos the last few years of have
brought me, anyone can.

World Class Beauty Queens: What are your plans for 2017/18 as a Queen?
I have hit the ground running and am working on some amazing things for this year, including a very special and personal social media campaign, promoting this amazing system, sharing my journey in hopes that it will encourage every woman to embrace her inner beauty queen, and continuing with behind the scenes updates of the “Life of Mrs. Galaxy.” I really want to embrace the reality of what it takes to be a full time working mom of 3 children, who happens to hold an amazing international title. Who knows, maybe we will end up with our own reality show!

World Class Beauty Queens Magazine would like to say thank you to Deanna Silva Mrs. Galaxy 2018 for this amazing interview!

Mr USA United Nations 2018, Derek Tokarzewski, Owner/Editor in Chief of World Class Beauty Queens Magazine
Mr USA United Nations 2018, Derek Tokarzewski, Owner/Editor in Chief of World Class Beauty Queens Magazine
Deanna Silva, Mrs Galaxy 2018, World Class Beauty Queens Magazine, Photo by Benzino
Deanna Silva, Mrs Galaxy 2018, World Class Beauty Queens Magazine, Photo by Benizo
Deanna Silva, Mrs Galaxy 2018, World Class Beauty Queens Magazine, Photo by Benzino
Deanna Silva, Mrs Galaxy 2018, World Class Beauty Queens Magazine, Photo by Benizo
World Class Magazine Ambassadors
World Class Magazine Ambassadors

World Class Magazines

 

