Yvannah Mae Garcia Miss Dixie PAC 2017 of Miss America Organization interview with World Class Beauty Queens Magazine.

My platform, Mental Health Awareness, is something that I personally relate to. During my freshman year of undergrad, I was diagnosed with Generalized Anxiety Disorder (GAD), which heavily and negatively affected my daily life. After seeking the help that I had refused for so long, I realized that the conversation of mental health is still very taboo, so this inspired me to found NAMI UTM. Since then, I have been actively working to educate others about the importance of mental health and to let them know that it’s okay to ask for help.

World Class Beauty Queens Magazine would like to welcome amazing

Queen, Yvannah Mae C. Garcia Miss Dixie PAC 2017 at Miss America Organization.

Full name: Yvannah Mae Garcia
Title/Year: Miss Dixie PAC 2017
Pageant System: Miss America Organization
Age: 22
Zodiac sign: Pisces
Hobbies: Singing, yoga, volunteering, and traveling when I have the time
Platform: Mental Health Awareness
Years competed: 2016 and 2017
Countries visited: Philippines, Japan, Canada, and the Bahamas
Likes: Grilled cheese, working out in an empty gym, sweater weather, and my
dog’s reaction when I come home from school
Dislikes: Last minute changes, peaches, clowns, and people who don’t use
their turn signals
Status: In a committed relationship with my school’s library

World Class Beauty Queens: Please tell us about yourself.
Thank you so much for giving me this opportunity to speak with you today! My name is Yvannah Garcia, and I am Miss Dixie PAC 2017. I graduated magna cum laude from the University of Tennessee at Martin with a Bachelor’s in Biology. While at UTM, I founded NAMI UTM, a student led organization that focused on educating others about the importance of mental health while reducing the stigma of mental illness. I am currently a Physician Assistant Student (PA-S) at the University of South Carolina School of Medicine in Columbia, SC. After receiving my Master’s in Physician Assistant Studies, I would love to work in bariatrics, general surgery, or dermatology!

World Class Beauty Queens: Tell us about your pageant history.
I decided to enter my first pageant, Miss University of Tennessee at Martin 2016, during my last year of eligibility for the title. I honestly had no idea what I was doing and did not even know that it was a Miss Tennessee preliminary, but somehow, I placed 1 st runner up and received a $500 scholarship.  Afterwards, I started getting numerous messages to continue pursuing a title and spot at the Miss Tennessee Scholarship Pageant. I competed in two more pageants for the 2015-2016 season, placing 3rd runner up and Non-Finalist Talent, respectively. During the 2016-2017 preliminary season, I competed in three different pageants, placing 1st runner up at all three and winning Overall Interview at one. After that last pageant, one of my professors made the comment “Always the bridesmaid, never the bride,” which really lit a fire within me. My next pageant just happened to be my lucky #7 because I captured Overall Talent, the title of Miss Dixie PAC 2017, and $4,000 in scholarships. In June, I competed at the Miss Tennessee Scholarship Pageant, where I gained a Wednesday Night Preliminary Talent win, a place in the Top 10, and a $3,000 scholarship.

World Class Beauty Queens: What inspired you to do your first pageant?
I grew up in Martin, Tennessee, which is a small town that absolutely loves pageantry. I never competed in pageants while I was growing up, but I always enjoyed watching the Miss America pageant with my family. After I stopped performing onstage at my local theatre, I wanted to be able to showcase my talent – singing – through a different platform. Additionally, I was in the same chemistry lab as Miss Tennessee 2015, Hannah Robison, so seeing her excel on the Miss America stage gave me the extra push I needed to finally start competing.

World Class Beauty Queens: Why did you choose to compete for your current
title?
One of the biggest factors was the fact that the title was named for The Dixie Carter Performing Arts and Academic Enrichment Center. Growing up, I have always been enamored with the performing arts (fun fact: all my talent selections were Broadway songs), so to be able to represent a community that appreciated the arts as much as me felt like a perfect match. In addition, Huntingdon, the town where my title is, is close to my hometown, so it just felt like home to me.

World Class Beauty Queens:  To those unfamiliar with your pageant system
please tell us what is it about?
The Miss America Organization is a large advocate for women’s education, providing scholarships to young women, like myself, who are in pursuit of not only the crown, but an education. Along with scholarship, MAO also promotes service, style, and success; these four aspects are represented by the four points of the various titleholder crowns. Not only are we blessed with the opportunity to earn money to further our education, but we are also given the opportunity to volunteer at and raise money for Children’s Miracle Network Hospitals. MAO’s promotion of well-rounded women is what keeps me, and others, coming back for a chance to serve our country as Miss America.

World Class Beauty Queens:  What are you being judged on during the competition?
During competition, we are judged in interview, onstage question, lifestyle and fitness (swimsuit), talent, and evening gown. Competition days are usually an all day event with interviews being held before onstage competition. These interviews consist of ten minutes with a panel of judges who ask you questions over a variety of topics, ranging from personal experiences to politics. The onstage competition include the other stages of competition: onstage question, lifestyle and fitness, talent, and evening gown. Personally, talent is my favorite!

World Class Beauty Queens: How was your experience during the competition.
Miss Tennessee Week was unlike anything I have ever experienced. Not only was I a first time state competitor, but I was the first titleholder of a brand new preliminary, so the amount of preparation that went into those seven days was incredible. My group of directors (appropriately named “The PACk”) were so crucial in ensuring that I was presenting my best version of myself while still having a great. Preliminaries and finals were definitely intense, considering that I was competing against 35 other incredibly well rounded women, but it was such a rewarding and fun experience. Although I was there to compete for the coveted title of Miss Tennessee, I made sure not to lose sight of the other opportunities I was given, including the ability to make new friendships and strengthen old ones.

World Class Beauty Queens: What appearances have you done with your title?
As Miss Dixie PAC 2017, I have been given the opportunity to travel throughout the entire state of Tennessee. I have been able to arrange different collection drives that benefitted three CMN Hospitals, including “Valentines for Vanderbilt”, “Chapters for Chattanooga”, and a Christmas toy drive for St. Jude Children’s Hospital. In addition, I was able to read to children at Huntingdon Primary School, discuss my platform of Mental Health Awareness at my alma mater Westview High School, and sing in The Dixie’s annual Christmas on Broadway! I made many other appearances during my reign, but these were definitely some of my favorites!

World Class Beauty Queens: Tell us about your platform or what cause do
you volunteer for.
My platform, Mental Health Awareness, is something that I personally relate to. During my freshman year of undergrad, I was diagnosed with Generalized Anxiety Disorder (GAD), which heavily and negatively affected my daily life. After seeking the help that I had refused for so long, I realized that the conversation of mental health is still very taboo, so this inspired me to found NAMI UTM. Since then, I have been actively working to educate others about the importance of mental health and to let them know that it’s okay to ask for help.

World Class Beauty Queens: What are some of your achievements?
Outside of pageantry and grades, I do have a few achievements of which I am particularly proud. For example, I used to compete in singing competitions so that I could pay for some of my bills. I earned hundreds of dollars just from that, and it made paying for school a little easier. In addition, I was a member of my UTM’s exclusive SGA Freshman Council, which gave me the ability to make a direct difference on campus. In South Carolina, I established a program called “Palmetto PALs (Physician Assistant Liaisons).” This program allows students in the University of South Carolina School of Medicine Physician Assistant Program to volunteer at Palmetto Health Children’s Hospital in Columbia, SC. Fun fact: Children’s Hospital is also a CMN Hospital!

World Class Beauty Queens: How does education plays a role in your life?
Ever since I was little, my parents stressed the importance of receiving an education. I firmly believe that education opens so many doors and reveals so many opportunities, so I have always pushed myself to succeed academically. Right now, my education at USCSOM is my top priority because I know that it will ensure that I reach my ultimate goal of being able to make differences in the lives of others as a Physician Assistant.

World Class Beauty Queens: Tell us about your evening gown?
My evening gown is a gorgeous Sherri Hill gown that I purchased from Joann’s in Union City when they had a trunk show in December. I was actually a few weeks away from moving to South Carolina for school, so I was at another level of stress trying to find the perfect evening gown. However, I knew that Paige at Joann’s would help me find something that made me feel confident and stayed true to my sense of fashion. My gown is white with intense beading at the top, and my favorite part: it has a small cape!  After purchasing it, I found out that Miss America 2015 Betty Cantrell had worn the same dress for an event. Later, Miss America 2016 Savvy Shields wore it too!

World Class Beauty Queens:  What is your onstage strategy to win the judges over?
I don’t really have a strategy to win over the judges. I am a firm believer that judges can tell when you are not being authentic, so I just be my genuine self. If they think I’m the girl for the job, then I could not be more thrilled!

World Class Beauty Queens: What makes you stand out from all those other beautiful girls?
Although I am surrounded by so many beautiful and talented young women, I think what makes me stand out is my ethnicity. I am Filipino, and although I have seen some Asian representatives in various pageants, I feel that there is still a very small number of us.  My hope is to encourage more Asian women and girls to pursue pageantry because they are also beautiful and capable of being successful!

World Class Beauty Queens: How did it feel to hear your name as the winner?
The feeling is overwhelming but in a good way. When your name is called, you immediately realize that all the long hours, hard work, and occasional letdowns all led to this one unforgettable moment that could potentially drastically change your life forever.

World Class Beauty Queens:  What does the crown and sash symbolizes to you?
To me, the crown and sash symbolizes responsibility. With both, you are given the opportunity to improve lives, especially those of young children who may look up to you. Once that sash is around you and that crown is pinned to your head, you are now responsible for leaving a positive impact wherever you go.

World Class Beauty Queens: What does it mean to you to be a Beauty Queen?
To me, it means being beautiful, inside and out. Because what is outer beauty if the inside doesn’t match?

World Class Beauty Queens: How did competing in pageants help your life?
Along with helping to finance my education, pageants have given me a confidence in myself that I didn’t have in the past. In addition, it has given me friendships that have gotten me through some trying times.

World Class Beauty Queens: You are an inspiration to all the girls out there.  How does it feel?
It’s a little scary because I want to make sure that I am sending a positive message that encourages young women and girls to pursue their dreams while staying true to themselves. However, I wouldn’t trade it for the world!

World Class Beauty Queens: What have you learned from choosing the dress for the competition?
Don’t choose a dress because it’s expensive; choose a dress because it makes you feel beautiful.

World Class Beauty Queens: What have you learned from the interview portion of the competition?
Stay up to date on current news, and be prepared for anything and everything!

World Class Beauty Queens: What are your plans for 2017/18 as a Queen?
I recently crowned the new Miss Dixie PAC, which was a bit sad, but I am so excited for her! During this pageant season, I will be a Queen in my own sense: continuing to promote Mental Health Awareness, volunteering at Children’s Hospital, and pursuing my Master’s. Unfortunately, I will not be competing this season because I will be entering my clinical year; however, I plan to return to pageant world at the end of 2018 by competing in Miss South Carolina local preliminaries!

World Class Beauty Queens:  What kind of legacy do you want to leave behind?
The legacy I want to leave is one of self love. I have learned that when you learn to love yourself, flaws and all, you are able to give more love to others. I want people to remember me as the girl who loved herself enough to stay true to herself and encouraged others to do the same.

World Class Beauty Queens Magazine would like to say thank you to Yvannah Mae C. Garcia Miss Dixie PAC 2017 at Miss America Organization for this amazing interview!

If you are interested in the opportunity to grace the cover or be considered for interview email us at.
WorldClassBeautyQueens@gmail.com

Interview by Owner/Editor in Chief Derek Tokarezewski

Mr USA United Nations 2018, Derek Tokarzewski, Owner/Editor in Chief of World Class Beauty Queens Magazine
Mr USA United Nations 2018, Derek Tokarzewski, Owner/Editor in Chief of World Class Beauty Queens Magazine
World Class Beauty Queens Magazine with Tara FlorianiPrint Issue 37 available for Purchase!

By derek Tokarzewski in World Class Beauty Queens Magazine

20 pages, published 9/26/2017

World Class Beauty Queens MagazineCover Girl Tara Floriani Mrs. All-Star United States 2016 Also interview with Yvannah Mae Garcia Miss Dixie PAC 2017 of Miss America Organization Ashley Wade Miss Earth United States Air 2017Katherine Highgate National Finalist to Miss Universe Canada 2017 Sophie Bettridge Miss Earth Wales 2017 Abigail Emma Stroud-Mort Royal United Kingdom Miss 2018 Onyx Uwandulu Miss Teen Galaxy Wales 2018…

 

Yvannah Mae Garcia, Miss Dixie PAC 2017, Miss America Organization, World Class Beauty Queens Magazine, Photo by Darren Lykes
Yvannah Mae Garcia, Miss Dixie PAC 2017, Miss America Organization, World Class Beauty Queens Magazine, Photo by Darren Lykes
Yvannah Mae Garcia, Miss Dixie PAC 2017, Miss America Organization, World Class Beauty Queens Magazine, Photo by Darren Lykes
Yvannah Mae Garcia, Miss Dixie PAC 2017, Miss America Organization, World Class Beauty Queens Magazine, Photo by Darren Lykes
Yvannah Mae Garcia, Miss Dixie PAC 2017, Miss America Organization, World Class Beauty Queens Magazine, Photo by Darren Lykes
Yvannah Mae Garcia, Miss Dixie PAC 2017, Miss America Organization, World Class Beauty Queens Magazine, Photo by Darren Lykes

World Class Magazines Ambassadors 11World Class Magazines

Leave a Reply

